When I cook at home, I cook very very simple dishes.  No recipes, no measurements.  Usually no salt, just garlic and olive oil.

Since the bf had a business meeting as soon as he woke up today, it meant that I was going to have lunch by myself.  The only thing left in my fridge were carrots and brussel sprouts, no meat.  That’s fine with me, but again, if the bf was home, I wouldn’t have been able to make lunch.  (Although I do have a can of emergency SPAM in the cupboard.)  Above is 2 cloves of garlic diced, 1 sliced carrot, and 4 large brussel sprouts.  I say large because it’s the largest I’ve seen.  I bought them at the Pershing Square Farmers Market last week.  I cut the ends of the brussel sprouts and “peeled” off the leaves that would come off and cut the remaining centers in half.

I probably didn’t need to do this, but I decided to quickly boil the centers of the brussel spouts in the pan for a quick 2 minutes.

Half of the diced garlic goes into the pan with the olive oil to saute the carrots.

I love pan sauteing carrots because they come out a little sweet without having to add anything.

After cooking the carrots through, I set them aside and saute the brussel sprouts…

..and then add the carrots back  and stir them up together.  I added a little bit of butter – very very little.  I mentioned before that I usually don’t add salt, but I like some salt on my brussel sprouts so I dashed in a little of Lawry’s seasoning salt.

I threw the carrots and brussel sprouts on top of white rice that I had cooking in my rice cooker and voila, a very very simple and healthy lunch!  Cooking does NOT have to be hard, take long, or require a lot of measurements!

