I am so lucky to have such a supportive and loving partner!  I’ve been talking about getting a serger for a while now and ever since I started making pants and bags, I wanted one even more so that I could make those items faster.  I had been waiting to reach a certain financial goal in my business before purchasing one for myself, but James decided to jump the gun and give me a special treat!

He bought it from Amazon.com (along with his MacBook Air) and I was thrilled when it arrived in early August, but I had to wait a few days to open it and get it set up because I was busy with a few things (at least I was disciplined at that moment!).  I was thrilled when it came time for me to open up the box and play with my new toy!

As you can see, my desk holds many things – my sewing machine, my monitor and keyboard, half of our projector, and now my serger!  This is how the serger came straight out of the box.  It came with 2 CDs, some manuals, and 4 different colors of thread that were already threaded into the machine with an already stitched scrap of fabric.

Here it is all set up with all white thread!  I got it just in time to work on my order of 16 Dino Tote Bags!  Prior to having the serger, I’d sew a straight stitch along the edge of the bag (that’s 4 edges for each reversible bag!), trim the edge close to the stitch, and then stitch an over-casting stitch to prevent fraying.  Honestly, since the edges are hidden, I really don’t think all that was necessary, but I like to know that the bags are well stitched to be durable and last a long time.  So, with the serger, it does all that in one step – and the speed of the serger is faster than my sewing machine as well!  So you can imagine how much time it saved when I made 16 reversible tote bags – that’s 64 edges!

A closer look at the serger foot…although I should have taken the photo from the other direction so that you could see where the blades trim the fabric.

Voila!  The finished edge!  This is for those of you who don’t know what a serger does.  However, after seeing this stitching, I’m sure you recognize it in all your clothing.  Just flip your clothing inside out and you’ll see that the seams that join the fabrics will be finished this way.  It protects the edges and keeps them from fraying.

So, now with the serger, the skirts, pants, and whatever else I decide to make, will have a nice professionally serged seam!

