I’ve recently been very inspired to craft and create.  After attending the Patchwork Indie Arts & Crafts Festival last weekend, I’ve been sewing, thinking, creating, researching, learning, etc.  I’ve been sleeping 4 hour nights because I’d wake up (I’m not a very heavy sleeper) and all these thoughts are swirling in my head.  I tried to stay in bed, but I’d get up to write my thoughts down or research something in case I forget (I’m also very forgetful).

On Thursday night, I was working all day and night on 20 bibs to be shipped to NYC.  So, yesterday, I decided to take a break from my orders and make something new.  I’ve been having so many ideas in my head and it’s been a while since I’ve actually worked on an idea… and VOILA!  I made this NYC garland!  I’m excited for several reasons.  First, it’s something new and I like the way it turned out.  I painstakingly traced and cut every single circle.  Yes, my right hand was cramped up after I put down my pair of scissors…and yes, there’s a trade tool that makes cutting fabric circles easier and quicker (that I just bought on-line after waking up at 7:40am this Saturday morning. Yay!).  Second, I get to use my scraps!  I’ve been looking for projects to use up my scraps from making other items in my shop.  Yes, I’ve saved most of the fabric scraps for 2 years now!  I’ve used some scraps in other projects, but there are these 4″ x 3.5″ ovals that I cut out from the baby bibs (neck area) that I had no idea what to do with them, but saved them anyway.  So, I’m excited that I have something to make out of them – I really try not to waste anything.

Here are some more details of the circles.  I love how it gives a glimpse/piece of a section of the fabric.

Perfect to hang over our 1972 Massimo Vignelli New York Subway map.

Here’s the listing in my shop for more details: NYC Fabric Garland

..and I’m definitely planning to make more!

